Post-Primary Schools nationwide to receive High-Speed Broadband

A 100Mbps Post Primary Schools Project which will deliver high-speed broadband connectivity to second level schools across the country has been launched by Communications Minister Eamon Ryan TD.


Dublin 25 June 2009

A 100mpbs Post Primary Schools Project which will deliver high-speed broadband connectivity to second level schools across the country has been launched by  Communications Minister Eamon Ryan TD.  The project is the result of cooperation between the Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources and the Department of Education and Science, the National Centre for Technology in Education, HEAnet, and the  Higher Education Authority. The first seventy-eight schools taking part in the Project were announced at the launch in the Digital Hub Learning Studio.

Launch of 100Mb schools project

Under the existing Schools Broadband Programme, primary and post-primary schools in Ireland can access a basic level of broadband connectivity. The 100mpbs Post Primary Schools Project marks the next phase in the Government’s ambition to develop our schools as world-class centres of e-learning and to educate the next generation of knowledge workers and digital entrepreneurs.

Launching the new Programme, Minister Ryan said, “We must equip our students with the skills and creativity they need to thrive in the new digital world we are entering. There is no surer way of preparing them than by bringing the Internet right into their place of learning and allowing them to experiment and interact online. Today’s announcement opens a door to them, to take part in Ireland’s digital future.”

This programme will provide world class infrastructure to enable our teachers and students access and exploit media rich online digital content and collaborate with colleagues on a world wide basis.  Schools will now be able to enrich and enliven their teaching and learning across all subjects on the post-primary curricula via these digital tools and online resources.

Schools have been selected against multiple criteria including geographical location, and an adequate mix of schools to ensure broad social inclusion. The speeds available are similar to those that are being offered to high-end national and multinational companies that operate in Ireland. They allow for the quick upload and download of material, instant connection to websites, and the increased and varied use of online applications.

The NCTE will  work with the 78 school to ensure the full benefits of this high speed broadband connection is availed of for learning and teaching. The NCTE will provide a range of support services including e-learning planning, continuing professional development, Scoilnet, online digital content, and technical advice and guidelines.

The Schools which will initially receive 100mpbs Broadband connections are:

Carlow Vocational SchoolKilkenny RoadCarlowCarlow
St. Leo's CollegeConvent Of MercyDublin RoadCarlow
St Caimin's Community SchoolTullyvarragaShannonClare
Cavan InstituteMain InstituteCavanCavan
St Flannan's CollegeEnnisCo ClareClare
Cork College Of CommerceMorrison's IslandCorkCork
Coláiste ChoilmBallincolligCo. CorkCork
Christ King Girls' Secondary SchoolHalf Moon LaneSouth Douglas RoadCork
Carrigaline Community SchoolWaterpark RoadCarrigalineCork
Loreto ConventLetterkennyCo DonegalDonegal
Carndonagh Community SchoolCarndonaghLiffordDonegal
St Eunan's CollegeLetterkennyCo DonegalDonegal
St Columbas CollegeStranorlarCo. DonegalDonegal
Loreto Community SchoolMilfordCo DonegalDonegal
Pobalscoil Chloich CheannfhaolaAn FálcarrachLeitir CeanainnDonegal
Gairmscoil Mhic DiarmadaAn LeadhbgarbhÁrainn MhórDonegal
Coláiste Phobail CholmcilleBaile ÚrOileán ThoraíDonegal
Ballyfermot College of Further EducationBallyfermot RoadDublin 10Dublin
Malahide Community SchoolBroomfieldMalahideDublin
Loreto Secondary SchoolBalbrigganCo DublinDublin
Castleknock Community CollegeCarpenterstown RoadCastleknockDublin
Scoil Phobail Chuil MhinCluain SaileachBaile Atha Cliath 15Dublin
Hartstown Community SchoolHartstownDublin 15Dublin
St Dominics CollegeCabraDublin 7Dublin
Mount Temple Comprehensive SchoolMalahide RoadDublin 3Dublin
St Josephs CollegeLucanCo DublinDublin
Coláiste BrídeNew RoadClondalkinDublin
St Mac Dara's Community CollegeWellington LaneTempleogueDublin
St Marks Community SchoolCookstown RdTallaghtDublin
St Benildus CollegeUpper Kilmacud RdStillorganDublin
St Aidan's Community SchoolBrookfieldTallaghtDublin
Trinity Comprehensive SchoolBallymun RoadDublin 9Dublin
Collinstown Park Community CollegeNeilstown Rd.RowlaghDublin
St Pauls Secondary SchoolGreenhillsDublin 12Dublin
Rosmini Community SchoolGrace Park RoadDrumcondraDublin
Presentation CollegeWarrenmountDublin 8Dublin
St. Colmcille's Community SchoolScholarstown RdKnocklyonDublin
St Joseph's CollegeNun's IslandGalwayGalway
Gort Community SchoolGortCo. GalwayGalway
Presentation CollegeHeadfordCo. GalwayGalway
Calasanctius CollegeOranmoreCo GalwayGalway
Gairmscoil Éinne Oileain ArannCill RónainInis MórGalway
Coláiste GhobnaitInis OírrOileáin ArannGalway
Mercy Secondary SchoolMounthawkTraleeKerry
Coláiste Naomh MhuireConvent Of MercySallins Rd.Kildare
Salesian CollegeCelbridgeCo. KildareKildare
Maynooth Post Primary SchoolMoyglare RdMaynoothKildare
St Kieran's CollegeSecondary SchoolCollege RdKilkenny
Coláiste ÍosagáinPortarlingtonCo. LaoisLaoighis
Community SchoolCarrick-On-ShannonLeitrimLeitrim
Castletroy CollegeNewtownCastletroyLimerick
Crescent College ComprehensiveDooradoyle RdDooradoyleLimerick
Colaiste ChiarainCroomCo. LimerickLimerick
Presentation Secondary SchoolSexton StreetLimerickLimerick
Mercy Secondary SchoolBallymahonCo LongfordLongford
St Oliver's Community CollegeDroghedaCo. LouthLouth
Ó Fiaich CollegeDublin RoadDundalkLouth
St Vincent's Secondary SchoolSeatown PlaceDundalkLouth
St Mary's Diocesan SchoolBeamore RoadDroghedaLouth
St Louis Community SchoolKiltimaghCo MayoMayo
Davitt CollegeSpringfieldCastlebarMayo
St Peter's CollegeDunboyneCo. MeathMeath
Community College DunshaughlinDunshaughlinCo MeathMeath
Beech Hill CollegeMonaghanCo. MonaghanMonaghan
Killina Presentation Secondary SchoolRahanTullamoreOffaly
St Nathy's CollegeBallaghaderreenCo RoscommonRoscommon
Summerhill CollegeSligoCo. SligoSligo
Cashel Community SchoolDualla RoadCashelTipperary
St Paul's Community CollegeBrowne's RoadWaterford CityWaterford
St Angela'sUrsuline ConventWaterfordWaterford
St Declan's Community CollegeKilmacthomasCo WaterfordWaterford
Moate Community SchoolChurch StreetMoateWestmeath
Athlone Community CollegeRetreat RoadAthloneWestmeath
Our Lady's BowerRetreat Rd.AthloneWestmeath
Good Counsel CollegeNew RossCo WexfordWexford
Mary WardRailway RoadGoreyWexford
Vocational CollegeEnniscorthyCo WexfordWexford
Loreto Secondary SchoolVevay RdBrayWicklow